CPL 2024 retentions – Royals bring back Maheesh Theekshana, Quinton de Kock and David Miller

Barbados Royals have retained Sri Lanka mystery spinner Maheesh Theekshana for the 2024 edition of the Caribbean Premier League even though he was unable to play any of their matches last year.

Theekshana, 23, is yet to play a single game in the CPL. Two years ago, he was selected by Trinbago Knight Riders but he was unable to secure a no-objection certificate from Sri Lanka Cricket. Last year, he had to withdraw on account of a schedule clash after being picked to represent the national team at the Asia Cup. Theekshana has 150 wickets in 145 T20s and an economy rate of 6.68.

Royals finished second from bottom in 2023 with three wins from ten games. They were without two key players in that time – Quinton de Kock and David Miller, who have both returned to the fold for this year’s tournament which runs from August 30 to October 7. Left-arm spinner Keshav Maharaj is the other South African in the squad. He represented the sister franchise Rajasthan Royals in the IPL earlier this year.
West Indies T20 captain and former CPL winner Rovman Powell offers further strength in the middle order with Jason Holder performing all-round duties.
Afghanistan fast bowler Naveen-ul-Haq is a new signing, returning to the CPL for the first time in three years and looking to add to his 220 T20 wickets. In all, Royals have confirmed 14 players on their roster, leaving them with three spots to fill when they attend the CPL draft in July.

Barbados Royals squad: Rovman Powell, Jason Holder, David Miller, Quinton de Kock, Maheesh Theekshana, Alick Athanaze, Naveen-ul-Haq, Obed McCoy, Kevin Wickham, Keshav Maharaj, Rahkeem Cornwall, Nyeem Young, Rivaldo Clarke, Ramon Simmonds.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *